Dance Diaries Ballroom Budgeting: How I Afford to Dance by Catherine Harrison- Book Review

Book Review:

I for one know little about dancing, but if I was to become interested in learning, this book certainly provides good tips on how to pay for the dance lessons and competition costs. The author, like many individuals, lives paycheck to paycheck. She makes sacrifices for an activity she is passionate about.

When one finds an activity that brings such joy to their lives, makes them feel healthier and happier, one makes sacrifices, works hard, shows tenacity, and budgets accordingly.

Catherine provides good information on budgeting, shows example spreadsheets, and describes through examples how to reduce expenses. She describes what is really needed for dance lessons and competitions. She discusses negotiating with your dance teacher for payment.

If you are planning to take up ballroom dance and live on a budget then this book is worth taking a look at.

Buy the Book: BookBaby  ~  Amazon  ~  Barnes & Noble

the-girl-with-the-tree-tatoo

Author’s Bio:

Katie is known as the Girl with the Tree Tattoo because of the tree of life tattoo that covers her entire back. She has been taking ballroom dancing lessons since December 2012 and competing in pro-am ballroom competitions since April 2014. It was through ballroom dance that Katie started to discover who she really was and what she was capable of, despite the demons of fear, self-doubt, and anxiety that live in her head. Through sharing her own experiences, Katie hopes to lead others to experience the amazing effect ballroom dancing can have on a life.

Connect with the author:  Website  ~  Twitter  ~ Facebook

Book Description:

Dance Diaries: Ballroom Budgeting: How I Afford to Dance (Book #2)

Anyone who tries ballroom dancing quickly learns how expensive it can be. From private lessons to competition fees, the monetary cost of being a ballroom student can quickly skyrocket. In my experience, the high cost is the most frequently cited reason for quitting dance. It shouldn’t be that way!

I live paycheck to paycheck, carry credit card debt, and still dance and compete in pro-am ballroom. In my first two years as a pro-am competitive ballroom dancer, I entered five competitions, had the money reserved for two additional events, and, at the same time, reduced my credit card debt by almost 50%!

I wrote this second book in my Dance Diaries series out of a desire to help my fellow struggling dancers do the same thing. From budgeting basics to specific tips on how to save on ballroom dancing, in Ballroom Budgeting, I share exactly how I dance and compete in ballroom while living paycheck to paycheck AND reducing debt! I even provide the tools I use to help you start organizing your own ballroom budget right away! Stop stressing over the cost and focus on what is important – the dancing!

iRead Website new logo

 

 

1 Comment

Comments are closed.